Thought-Speak Problems

Discussions regarding the Animorphs books
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules carefully before you post.

If you like AnimorphsFanForum.com, please consider making a donation. Any donation will go towards the cost of the hosting, the domain and any other running costs.
SaritaWolf
Warrior
Warrior

Thought-Speak Problems

Post by SaritaWolf » Sun Sep 28, 2008 4:48 pm

While rereading book 23 (The Pretender) something got to me and has been bothering me for quite some time. :C I hope I'll be able to explain it, I'm not very good at explanations. :?

Okay, so in Book 23, Tobias morphs a Hork-Bajir. Hork-Bajir can normally talk and I think he does some of that, but most of the time he thought-speaks. Now, if he can thought-speak in the body of a creature that can talk anyway, how come he can't thought-speak while in human morph?

Also, on a mostly unrelated note, Bek, the baby Hork-Bajir, replies in thought-speak. Was that a typo or can Hork-Bajir naturally thought-speak?

capnnerefir
Administrator
Administrator
Favourite Animorph: Tobias

Re: Thought-Speak Problems

Post by capnnerefir » Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:35 pm

Throughout the series, there are several (19, if I remember correctly) instances where someone uses thought-speak when they actually cannot (like with Bek). I think that's just a typo.

As for Tobias thought-speaking as a Hork... I think KAA decided that all morphs could thought-speak, event thought this was not her original intention. for example, in the beginning of the series, Ax cannot use thought-speak while in human morph; by the end of the series, this problem is long gone.

SaritaWolf
Warrior
Warrior

Post by SaritaWolf » Sun Sep 28, 2008 5:45 pm

Ah, I see now. I haven't gotten to the end of the series yet (I have trouble getting a hold of the books; fortunately I just found the E-Books that come with this forum. I'll be reading all night XD)