Yeah, I have a few problems...

Need help troubleshooting your PC? We have a couple of geeks in the forum who can help you
Forum rules
Please read the forum rules carefully before you post.

If you like AnimorphsFanForum.com, please consider making a donation. Any donation will go towards the cost of the hosting, the domain and any other running costs.
User avatar
AneeshTheGreat
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:01 am
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Marco
Location: not Mumbai, India :(

Yeah, I have a few problems...

Post by AneeshTheGreat » Sat May 09, 2009 11:50 am

Okay, here goes...

Firstly, i formatted my comp last week, and hence, re installed windows (Xp). Since then, i have defined no additional users, and have been using the default administrator user, with no defined password. My problem is, when i log in, i an randomly asked for a password. I have no idea what this is, but a quick restart repairs the thing, and i can log in freely. What's happening? How do i prevent this?

Secondly, how do i get she of the language bar? I don't know what it is, all i know is that i don't want it! What can i do? Every time i disable it, it comes back when i log back in! Is there any permanent solution?
Last edited by AneeshTheGreat on Sat May 09, 2009 6:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand Binary, and those who don't. Now 1/4th a Computer Scientist (or Computer Science Engineer, depending on my mood), i can safely say i fall into the first category.

bigbadharv
Gedd
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat May 09, 2009 1:13 pm

Re: Yeah, i have a few problems...

Post by bigbadharv » Sat May 09, 2009 1:22 pm

Hm...odd problems indeed.

Unfortunately, the only thing I can suggest is that you reinstall Windows. :)

User avatar
minakochanzinha
Venus Princess
Venus Princess
Posts: 515
Joined: Wed Sep 24, 2008 1:10 pm
Gender: [Female][/Female]
Favourite Animorph: Tobias
Location: Brazil

Re: Yeah, i have a few problems...

Post by minakochanzinha » Sat May 09, 2009 1:37 pm

*shrugs*
Some computers automatically request a password at startup, by default. Usually just clicking cancel or OK is accepted by the computer. But I'm not sure how to turn it off. Have you tried checking the options in the Start -> Control Panel -> User Accounts?

about your seccond doubt, sorry but I didn't understand. you mean the language bar?

hope I helped ^^'
......it wasn't Jake's fault - Join the club ;)
------
Image
------
currently at 65kg (about 143lb) and going... Image
goal: 60kg (132lb)Image
------
Image
too....darn....CUTE!!!

User avatar
AneeshTheGreat
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:01 am
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Marco
Location: not Mumbai, India :(

Re: Yeah, i have a few problems...

Post by AneeshTheGreat » Sat May 09, 2009 6:13 pm

minakochanzinha wrote:*shrugs*
Some computers automatically request a password at startup, by default. Usually just clicking cancel or OK is accepted by the computer. But I'm not sure how to turn it off. Have you tried checking the options in the Start -> Control Panel -> User Accounts?

about your seccond doubt, sorry but I didn't understand. you mean the language bar?

hope I helped ^^'
*stupid t9* yeah, i do mean the language bar. Now, what in the user accounts should i do? No password is defined there. Plus, simply clicking doesn't work.
There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand Binary, and those who don't. Now 1/4th a Computer Scientist (or Computer Science Engineer, depending on my mood), i can safely say i fall into the first category.

User avatar
Ellimist
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4949
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 4:48 am
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Jake

Re: Yeah, i have a few problems...

Post by Ellimist » Sat May 09, 2009 7:28 pm

mina wrote:Some computers automatically request a password at startup, by default. Usually just clicking cancel or OK is accepted by the computer. But I'm not sure how to turn it off. Have you tried checking the options in the Start -> Control Panel -> User Accounts.
I think this is only applicable for Windows 200 Me or older Microsoft OSs. Windows XP doesn't ask for passwords unless you have a password. My only advice is to create another user account with administrator privileges and delete the existing account. If this problem occurs for the new account too, you have something wrong in your registry.

About turning off the language bar, it's simple. Follow these steps :
  1. Click on Options > Settings.
    lbar1.jpg
  2. Click on Language Bar in the Preferences section in the Text Services and Input Languages window.
    lbar2.jpg
  3. Uncheck the "Show Language Bar on the desktop" option.
    lbar3.jpg
  4. Click on the "Ok"s.
And you are done.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Powered by chocolate and Dvorak

User avatar
AneeshTheGreat
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:01 am
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Marco
Location: not Mumbai, India :(

Re: Yeah, I have a few problems...

Post by AneeshTheGreat » Sun May 10, 2009 10:28 am

Wow Ellimist, thanks for the tip about the language bar, it worked GREAT! Since you're obviously very knowledgable about this kinda stuff, i DO have a few more questions...

1) google chrome seemed like THE ideal internet browser until i got a format. Now, after countless re installs, whenever i try to use chrome, i get a message, something like "aw snap, the web site couldn't be loaded due technical problems" or something like that. Any help? Also, i noticed this before formatting the pc, chrome seems to work only on the user it was installed using, can this be fixed?
Next, how can i permanently disable the scan disc until I want to run it?
There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand Binary, and those who don't. Now 1/4th a Computer Scientist (or Computer Science Engineer, depending on my mood), i can safely say i fall into the first category.

User avatar
Ellimist
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 4949
Joined: Thu Nov 22, 2007 4:48 am
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Jake

Re: Yeah, I have a few problems...

Post by Ellimist » Sun May 10, 2009 7:27 pm

About the "Aw Snap" error, Google says,
Google Chrome Known Issues wrote:We're still investigating. Please add additional information to this help forum thread.
For disabling Chkdsk(it's called Scandisk in Win Me or lower), follow these steps :
  1. Click Start, click Run, type regedit, and then click OK.
  2. Locate and then click the following key in the registry:
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\BootExecute
  3. On the Edit menu, click Modify.
  4. Type autocheck autochk *, and then press ENTER.
Please exercise extreme caution while editing the registry. Even one incorrect entry may prevent your computer from booting up. If possible, create a backup(File-> Export) of the parent tree before committing any changes.
Powered by chocolate and Dvorak

User avatar
bindaaskshitij
Donator
Donator
Posts: 2430
Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2007 8:44 am
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Marco
Location: Utopia!...........I wish!

Re: Yeah, I have a few problems...

Post by bindaaskshitij » Sun Aug 23, 2009 10:11 am

Exactly. Do not play around with registry unless you're damn sure. In this case, Elli is right and go ahead. But do not try experimenting yourself. Always check for solutions online and think ten times before you open the registry
Quantum materiae materietur marmota monax si marmota monax materiam possit materiari?

Image

Ymabob
Civilian
Posts: 10
Joined: Sun Nov 15, 2009 6:24 pm
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Tobias

Re: Yeah, I have a few problems...

Post by Ymabob » Sun Nov 15, 2009 7:11 pm

Experimenting in the registry without proper knowledge could end up "killing" your OS, so as stated earlier do not play around there, or at least, make backups.

My advice would be that you make yourself a new account, with administrator rights and start using that one instead. The "Default" administrator user, shouldn't really be used. It's basically there for you to log in with in safe mode, or in command line IF you run into trouble with your other accounts.
The best thing to do is, whenever you reinstall your computer, just make yourself a user called "name" or whatever, and simply start using that from the start. The administrator user should then disappear by itself in the login screen if you've designated a password for it, though you said you didn't. Or if you're not using any password, It should basically just log straight into your "name" profile.

I hope i'll be of some help.
Good luck

User avatar
AneeshTheGreat
Donator
Donator
Posts: 1947
Joined: Sat Apr 11, 2009 9:01 am
Gender: [Male][/Male]
Favourite Animorph: Marco
Location: not Mumbai, India :(

Re: Yeah, I have a few problems...

Post by AneeshTheGreat » Mon Nov 16, 2009 2:01 am

Well, thanks for the help, but it actually fixed itself a long time ago. Turns out, somehow, it was being by my Vista Inspirat pack. Now i've upgraded to the latest version, and there are no more probs. Of course, now i've also set a password for Administrator...
There are 10 types of people in this world. Those who understand Binary, and those who don't. Now 1/4th a Computer Scientist (or Computer Science Engineer, depending on my mood), i can safely say i fall into the first category.